I Need a nap:

Dear Dr. Brilliant cliché ;

I am not at all dissatisfied with my life. I like my family, I work in my chosen field, and I’m fully insured. My problem?

I am sleep deprived. All of the things that are so important to me  take up more hours than there are in a day. I sometimes fall asleep in the middle of catch-up tasks when I get home from work. There’s just too much to do and not enough hours to fit it all in.

I think that there are a lot of people out there with this problem. What do we do when the life that we lead doesn’t leave us enough time to live?

I can’t help but think that the stress is going to have an adverse effect after a while.

Need a nap

Dear Need a Nap,

Boy I would love to answer this one; I just don’t have an answer for it.

Last time I was working on my ledger I found I had written a check to the tooth fairy. Apparently I fell asleep while working and continued to work in my sleep. At least I learned my dream state is a happy one. I need more sleep and less stress like the rest of the working world.

Another reader submitted a similar question regarding how a well-intentioned man can keep from getting spread too thin. He is dealing with trying to be there for his wife, kids, job, and aging ailing parents and he is finding there just isn’t enough of him to go around.

Again if there were codependent issues or a way to ask someone to help you out I would have suggestions but sometimes it is what it is.

The Granny Dr. has a lot to say on these matters so I will defer to her.

Dear Need a Nap;

I will say to you what I say to all people who tell me that they are far too busy to take time for themselves due to various obligations: Just wait until your first heart attack. You’ll have lots of time.

I am guessing, Mr. Need a Nap, that you have not yet had your first “flatten you on your ass for good” medical crisis.
Once you have that experience, you will find yourself looking at the world in a very different way. Until then, there’s not much that anyone can tell you. But that won’t stop Granny.

I know you would like to think that you have to do EVERYTHING,
that it would all fall apart without you, that you’ve got to make every moment
count and keep up with the Kardashians. But what if you dropped dead tomorrow? Would your family go on without you? Would your kids find a ride to soccer practice and the Quahog Festival? Would your place of business keep operating? Would several hundred movies still be watched by SOMEONE? Yes, yes, yes and yes.

Ask yourself this: would you rather have your kids saying “Darn! Dad couldn’t
get to the soccer game this week”… or “Crap! Dad dropped dead!”

If you can handle this life you have forged and your body isn’t giving out, keep it up. But if you are edging ever closer to 50 and you are beginning to realize this machine you live in is starting to show the wear and tear of time… well, you might want to consider examining your priorities. You may be surprised at how many of the things you do are expendable. What is not expendable is that body of yours- not if you expect to live in it for the rest
of your life; because, let’s face it, that’s what you’re gonna do whether you like it or not.

About Dr. Brilliant Cliché

Dr. Brilliant Cliché and the Granny Dr. are a fictional web presence and advice blog. Together we offer a joint perspective that is deep but not academic, entertaining but not fluff, and educated yet street smart. By joining the internet community we hope to share thoughts and stimulate insightful conversation around pressing issues that affect us all. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts. (This is not a site for therapy nor does it intend to replace medical or other professional care. ) You can leave comments here or email The Dr. at dr.brilliantcliche@yahoo.com and don’t forget to like us on facebook. Our facebook page is Dr. Brilliant Cliche
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Need a nap:

  1. hopeful says:

    still trying to learn how to stop controlling the world

Leave a Reply

